Dragons Beyond the Pale by Maria Grace

From Pemberley to Milton

BeyondThePale_EB_HR,fix

Dragon’s Beyond the Pale is Maria Grace’s latest book in the Jane Austen’s Dragons series, and she was able to once more surprise me with the introductions of new dragons and new plots.

I was expecting a book that would take place mainly in parlors and ball rooms, but I was pleasantly surprised to see that even though the book starts by introducing the preparations for the cotillion, it soon changes the main plot into an adventure where new types of dragons are introduced.

One of the aspects I enjoyed the most about this book was precisely the introduction of new types of dragons. When we think we already know everything about this world and the Blue Order, Maria Grace writes a new book and shows us there is much more to explore in the Dragons Series.

Another aspect I enjoyed in this book is something I hope to…

View original post 322 more words

Audio Review: Second Son

Definitely listen to Second Son before Yorien’s Hand.
Second Son is the Ben Hur of this series.

C. O. Bonham

For my next audiobook review I decided to go back to the Minstrel’s Song series by Jenelle Schmidt. Today I’m doing a review for the second book in the series. If you remember my past reviews I skipped this one because it was more of a prequel. If you would like, you can go back and check out my reviews for book one, King’s Warrior, or book three, Yorien’s Hand.

So now on to the second book, conveniently titled Second Son.

In an attempt to manipulate the future, a family and a nation are forced to decide between two brothers. Guided by a prophecy spoken hundreds of years before, the King and Queen of Llycaelon have set their course. Their goal: to fulfill the prophecy and save their nation from a dire fate.Rhoyan has always understood and accepted his own role as second born and perpetual prince. He…

View original post 465 more words

Thunder Girl an Audiobook Review

Fun review from Cathrine Bonham!

C. O. Bonham

Welcome to July. you may not know it but July is one of three Novel Writing Months. The biggest one is of course November, but there are also April and July, called Camp NaNoWiMo. During Camp you can set any goal amount and even count editing rather than try to hit new word counts.

So while I work on editing Runaway Lyrics, I’m pulling out the audiobooks again. The first audiobook review I have for you is this quirky YA novel called Thunder Girl.

About the Book

All Cat wanted was an ordinary summer internship at the American Museum of Natural History. But when the fossils on display command her to use an ancient amulet to restore balance to the sacred lands out West, she and her robot companion Hermes find themselves journeying across an alternate-history 1890s America to set things right in the Native States. 

If that wasn’t enough…

View original post 461 more words

King’s Warrior Audiobook Release!

Smudged Thoughts

good morning, cyberspace!

If you follow me on any of my social media platforms, you PROBABLY already know what this here post is about. Recently, I was contacted by my lovely friend, Jenelle, to help spread the news about her first ever audiobook release, and today, my dearest of peasants, I’m finally able to do so!

Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, children and the proverbial monsters beneath their beds……

KING’S WARRIOR IS NOW AN AUDIOBOOK!!

Excitement GIF

Y’all, I am so ridiculously excited for this. I’ve been wanting to dip my toes into the audiobook world for a LOOOOONG time now (hello, multitasking!), but I just … haven’t done it yet? But Jenelle recently released the first book in her Minstrel’s Song series as an audiobook, and GUYS. I AM SO SO EXCITED TO READ IT.

Or … listen to it? Eh, we don’t care about proper terminology ’round here…

View original post 878 more words

Dive in Review: All Made of Hinges

Mormon Steampunk? Is that a thing?
Some incredibly unique & fun stories in this anthology. It was a pleasure to narrate.

C. O. Bonham

I know this is an off day for me to be posting on but I needed to let you know about a fun anthology that I just finished listening to on audible.

Cheerful in the face of dark opposition. Innovative to improve a backward world. Industrial as a cure for oppressive conditions. Unyielding beneath all who seek to bind and control them. Faithful until they conquer the fear of death and rise to great acts of heroism and service. Mormons and steampunks are two faces of the same coin.

Twelve authors spin tales of true believers facing impossible odds, risking this life in the hope of gaining something better after. Mormon Battalion soldiers fight an airship, a bounty hunter crosses Porter Rockwell, cultists attempt to reanimate Brigham Young, and missionaries run into Cthulhu. These are just a few of the amazing tales by award winning, bestselling, and premier authors –…

View original post 489 more words

An Irish Tale, Dive in review.

First book I professionally narrated. Still got a soft spot for it. I also think I’ve improved an awful lot since then. 🙂

C. O. Bonham

Hello, I hope everyone is surviving the epidemic alright. To get you through your forced isolation I have a book to recommend. And since St. Patrick’s day (Aka, everything is Irish day) is tomorrow, I decided to make it an Irish Tale. This story is a fun fantasy that would be great for kids. But it also has a religious message that I think the real St. Patrick would approve of.

51lII3Cp-4L

From the back cover:

This tale is about a boy named Yipson Minor who ends up on the island of Evolone Hills with his father, mother and sister. He doesn’t originate from there, but was given a push by a divine King for a divine purpose.

As a child, Yipson was under the oppression of a wicked kingdom. But once on the island, he uncovers a secret dictionary from an odd professor which leads him on a chain of…

View original post 542 more words

Audiobook Review: King’s Warrior

Great review of Book one of The Minstrel’s Song by Jenelle Leanne Schmidt

C. O. Bonham

Today I bring you another audiobook in my November Audiobook reviews. Today’s post also corresponds with a blog tour for the fantasy novel, King’s Warrior by Jenelle Leanne Schmidt.

King’s Warrior is now an audio book!

An exciting adventure, now available in audio format!

Note from the author:

Enter the realm of Aom-igh, embark on an adventure with Princess Kamarie to save her kingdom. Battle dragons alongside the young squire, Oraeyn and the mysterious warrior, Brant. And experience the adventure in the way it was always meant to be experienced: out loud.

As many of my dear readers already know, when I wrote King’s Warrior, it was intended as a story that my dad could read out loud to my siblings each night. I always dreamed of getting it turned into an audio book, and now I am pleased to announce that this dream has come true.

Many readers have…

View original post 844 more words

Audio review: Yorien’s hand

Review of a hidden Gem – book 3 of The Minstrel’s Song by Jenelle Schmidt

C. O. Bonham

Last November I did a month of audio book reviews. One of those reviews was for a book called King’s Warrior by Jenelle Schmidt, you can read that here: https://cobonham.com/2020/11/09/audiobook-review-kings-warrior/

If you were interested in that book then you will be pleased to hear the next three books in the series are now available on Audible for your binge listening pleasure.

The book I’m reviewing today isn’t book two. No, it’s actually book three. Book two is a prequel book so to get back to where the action left off we must look to book three.

About Yorien’s Hand

The years of Oraeyn’s short rule have been peaceful, but now ominous nightmares plague his sleep and cling to him during his waking hours. When two of his most trusted advisors disappear without a trace and not even the power of dragons can locate them, the fell promise of the king’s…

View original post 638 more words

It’s the Audio Book Celebration for author Jenelle Schmidt!

The Whole series is now available on Audible! Don’t miss it. If you like Tolkien, C.S. Lewis and Lloyd Alexander, you’ll like this!

E.E. Rawls Writes

That’s right, Jenelle’s King’s Warrior book series is now an audiobook series! Epic adventure and fantasy and dragons galore!Below is all the info, and a link to an audio sample, plus you can see what other readers are saying.A huge congratulations to Jenelle for all the work she put into this, and her dream for this series coming true!

Find the series on Audible at:https://www.audible.com/author/Jenelle-Leanne-Schmidt/B008J4H9ZS

King's Warrior book, author Jenelle Schmidt, new fantasy books, fantasy adventure audio books, YA fantasy, middle grade fantasy reads, clean fantasy reads, 2020 audio books, second son book, yorien's hand book, minstrel's call book,

Series Blurb:

From time immemorial a world has endured the struggles of the mighty.Creatures of myth have been hidden away for centuries waiting to take their place.But will they be conquerors or protectors?

The Minstrel’s Song chronicles the story of heroes pitting their will and strength against the hidden, personal, and ancient foes seeking to dominate a world poised for a new era.

What Readers Are Saying:

King’s Warrior

In the vein of Terry Brooks, King’s Warrior is an excellent epic…

View original post 397 more words

Book Review of Kings Warrior

I love narrating this series!

Second Time Around Homestead

I emphatically rate Kings Warrior by Jenelle Leanne Schmidt as five stars and would recommend it to any audience of YA reading level or above who is interested in fantasy. I read this book by listening to an audio version of it. This means the characters and the plot line must be exceptionally strong or I find myself distracted. Likewise a strong narrator is needed to read clearly. The only surprise I had from it being an audio book was that suddenly music erupted, I was not expecting it and found it startling, but I grew to like it. It was fantastic for working around the house.

Book cover of The King's Warrior

The plot line is steady and the dialog and actions believable. There is a lot of foreshadowing, but this helps us to adjust to and believe in the fantasy. There is no unnecessary or stilted dialog, instead it helps us to really understand…

View original post 117 more words

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started